Air Force Men’s Basketball Announces 2022 Program Awards | #oscars | #academywards

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. – Air Force men’s basketball announced its team award winners for the 2021-22 season.  Senior guard A.J. Walker was named the Bob Beckel Most Valuable Player.

Walker led the Falcons in scoring for the second-consecutive season, averaging 14.2 points per game as a senior.  He earned All-Mountain West Honorable Mention honors for his second All-MW honor in as many seasons.  Walker leaves the Academy ranking seventh all-time in scoring with 1,410 career points.

Junior guard Camden Vander Zwaag earned the Cliff Parsons Award for the member of the Falcon basketball team that gives his best every day, in every way.  Vander Zwaag had a breakout junior season, where averaged 4.7 points per game and ranked fourth on the team with 24 three-point baskets.  Vander Zwaag hit one of the biggest buckets for the Falcons this season, when he hit a three with 21 seconds left to rally Air Force to a 59-58 win at Tulsa.

Freshman guard Jake Heidbreder earned the Bob Spear Award for the member of the Falcon basketball team that demonstrates high achievement in basketball performance, academics and military performance.  It is considered one of the highest honors a player can earn.  Heidbreder had a standout rookie campaign, ranking second on the team in scoring at 10.4 points per game.  His 303 points for the season set a freshman record in the Mountain West era at Air Force.  His 194 points and 11.4 scoring average in MW play was also a new Air Force freshman record.  Heidbreder was the lone Falcon to start and play all 29 games this season.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *