The American Academy of Arts and Sciences Inducts Six Columbia Faculty Members | #oscars | #academywards

Six Columbia professors have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, joining some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research in one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies.

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, president of the American Academy. “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future.”

Panagiota Daskalopoulos is a mathematics professor whose research involves partial differential equations and geometric analysis. Honors and awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Sloan Fellowship.

Thomas A. DiPrete is the Giddings Professor of Sociology, co-director of Columbia’s Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy (ISERP), and a faculty member of the Columbia Population Research Center.

Saidiya Hartman is a University Professor in the Department of English and Comparative Literature. Honors and awards include Fulbright, Rockefeller, and MacArthur fellowships.

Andreas Huyssen is the Villard Professor of German and Comparative Literature, who served as founding director of Columbia’s Center for Comparative Literature and Society, and twice chaired the Department of Germanic Languages.

Jennifer Lee, the Julian Clarence Levi Professor of Social Sciences, is a sociologist who has been uniquely successful in placing the study of Asian Americans centrally in the discipline.

Mae Ngai, the Lung Family Professor of Asian American Studies and professor of history, and co-director of the Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race, received the 2022 Bancroft Award for her book, The Chinese Question: The Gold Rushes and Global Politics.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *